You are here

Who we are

Unifor Local 52A.01

Unifor Local 52A Unit 1 is directed by an Executive and Board of Directors. The Executive includes the elected positions of President (Wilma Ellenburgh), Vice-President (Elaine Cardinal), Secretary (Lise Viel) and Treasurer (Janice Bowman). The Board of Directors is comprised of members-at-large from various positions and locations throughout the school district.

The Executive and the Board of Directors each hold a monthly meeting to conduct the business of the Local. Unifor Local 52A.01’s By-Laws and the Board of Directors Policies and Procedures manual govern Local business.

Some of the membership services Unifor Local 52A.01 offers to its members are:

•      A monthly newsletter

•      Access to information through the website

•      Information services

•      Assistance with member’s concerns regarding the collective agreement or workplace conflicts and grievances

•      Recognition (cards/gifts/Mass card/donation) to members who are ill or bereaved

•      Education bursaries, wellness bursaries and scholarships to support life-long learning

•      An annual banquet to honor retirees and long service recipients

•      Membership meetings and information sessions

•      Collective Agreement negotiations

•      Liaison with other education support staff locals throughout Canada

•      Charitable donations on behalf of the membership to Edmonton area children's charities

•      Representation of support staff interests on many school district committees